Tuesday, September 16, 2014

PINS share 'Come Back' from new EP

Following on from their acclaimed 2013 debut album release Girls Like Us, PINS will return with a limited edition cassette EP ‘Come Back’ for Cassette Day on 27th September. Today, the Manchester four-piece have shared the title track, a cover of the The Belles song from 1966.

The EP features two other covers of 1960’s Girls in the Garage bands, with PINS taking each track to make it their own by adding their unique dark pop, post punk, fuzzed up garage sound and alluringly abrasive chant-like vocals. The EP, which is limited to 100 cassettes, also includes B-Side ‘You Don’t Love Me’ (Willie Cobbs) and a bonus track ‘I’m Leaving You’ (Char Vinnedge and Mary Gallagher).

PINS have also just confirmed they’ll be supporting Growlers on their UK tour in November. Full dates as follows…

12 November – Leeds Belgrave Music Hall

13 November – London Village Underground

15 November – Glasgow Broadcast

16 November – Manchester Roadhouse

Work on the follow-up album to Girls Like Us has already commenced with the album being recorded with Dave Catching (QOTSA, Eagles of Death Metal) in his Joshua Tree studio later this month and a release date expected to come early next year. In addition to the Growlers support tour, PINS have also announced their first US West Coast tour, which takes place in October, with appearances also confirmed for New York’s CMJ festival. Full dates are as follows:

PINS LIVE (full dates)

12 October – Seattle, Sunset Tavern

14 October – Portland, Mississippi Studios

15 October – Vancouver, Electric Owl

17 October – San Francisco, Rickshaw Stop

18 October – Los Angeles, Culture Collide Fest

19 October – San Diego, The Hideout

20-25  October – New York, CMJ (Various Venues)

12 November – Leeds Belgrave Music Hall*

13 November – London Village Underground*

15 November – Glasgow Broadcast*

16 November – Manchester Roadhouse*

* with Growlers

PINS are Faith Vern (vocals/guitar), Anna Donigan (bass), Lois Macdonald (guitar) and Sophie Galpin (drums).