Thursday, September 19, 2013

SPARK A BURNING MAN STORY Releases Two Original Soundtrack Remixes

Heralded as one of the most exciting and visually dynamic documentaries of the year, Spark: A Burning Man Story topped the iTunes Documentary Chart at #1 during its opening weekend. The New York Times said it best, “Since we can’t all attend Burning Man, we can be thankful for ‘Spark,’ which is probably the next best thing”.

To accompany the film’s success, 2 albums comprised of 24 tracks takes listeners through a diverse musical journey rooted in nostalgic influences of “The Burn”. While the “Day” album is composed of inspiring lyrics rich in melody and emotion mostly featured in the film itself, the “Night” album features mature and sexy underground tracks to represent the many musical palettes of the playa and beyond.

Since its inception in 1986, Burning Man has grown famous for everything from raves to industrial-scale art expositions, having a diverse culture based on “Radical Inclusion” and “Radical Self-Expression”. The event comes together in the middle of a remote Nevada desert, leaving no trace behind other than the memories of newfound friendships and spiritual life discoveries. Each year, the weeklong escapade captivates 60,000 people by combining the extremes of “Radical Self-Reliance” of the desert and the “Communal Effort” of collaborating on art projects.

To further understand this phenomenon, the creative passion of “burners” and a unique back room look into the founders’ beginnings, ideals and struggles of producing this event, first-time Film Director Steve Brown and documentary veteran Jessie Deeter have crafted an inside look.

Steve Brown comments, “Spark deals with a fundamental tension that many artists face when they are getting started: how to reconcile their desire to follow their dream with the reality of surviving and paying the rent? Then, when an artist gets wildly popular, the question is about how to preserve their essence and passion now that they are famous celebrities. We saw Burning Man go through that exact same cycle of acting on an idealistic and inspiring dream and then growing up and transforming as that dream collides with reality”.  That’s the story of an artist, and it resonates and shows up repeatedly in the lyrical content heard on the soundtrack, such as “Man on Fire” by Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, “Going To The Desert” by Damian Lazarus, and “Feel The Love” by Rudimental; as well as other stand out tracks, including Sasha’s remix of “Flutes” by Hot Chip, “Principles” by Benoit & Sergio, and Diplo’s “Express Yourself”.

Aminé Ramer, Spark’s Film Music Supervisor adds, “My inspiration came from the desire to capture the varied sensibilities of Burning Man and the visual being shown in the film with the director’s taste, all while trying to keep the line between mainstream and the underground influences from Burning Man”. 



Australian songstress Missy Higgins, winner of seven ARIA Awards, provides the lead single and original theme song for the film and soundtrack titled, ”We Ride.” Missy worked with the filmmakers to compose the track for a breakthrough moment in the film which is essentially the heart of the album with its intimate, soulful production. During the film, the song kicks in with the lyrics “Suddenly I feel anything is possible,” which is similar to the stories of many Burning Man attendees who risked everything to follow their dreams. The single was produced by Grammy Award-Winning artist, writer and producer, Dan Wilson, (Adele, Dixie Chicks) who is also the Co-Executive producer of the soundtrack.

Another original theme song written specifically for the film and soundtrack is delivered by Michael Franti & Spearhead titled, ”Let It Go” (Exclusive remix courtesy of Stanton Warriors.) When demand for Burning Man far exceeded the event’s capacity in 2012, the community was torn apart by the dilemma of reconciling their values of inclusion and participation with a new reality that they could not let everyone in. Michael Franti’s “Let It Go” was composed for the turning point of the film as the community starting pulling back together and finding their way back to the Playa.

Adam Freeland delivers another Spark exclusive (premiered by Elektro) and explains his ties to Burning Man as his remix for “Man On Fire” by Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros speaks to the ideals, passion and creativity behind the film, album and event: “I’ve been going to Burning Man for the last 12 years, and it’s a big part of my life. There’s a sense of community, no rockstars or VIP and everybody has bought a ticket and has to contribute to the environment with everybody else.”



1. Rudimental – Feel The Love feat. John Newman

2. Cazzette – Heroes

3. Tycho – Coastal Brake

4. Marcus Andersson & Alex Talan – The Event

5. Scoredraw – Dubstep Dark

6. Michael Franti & Spearhead – Let It Go feat. Ethan Tucker

7. Missy Higgins – We Ride

8. Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros – Man On Fire

9. Crystal Fighters – Wave

10. Damian Lazarus & Mathew Jonson – Going To The Desert

11. Amanda Palmer – In My Mind feat. Brian Viglione

12.Scoredraw – Quietly Happy


1. Hot Chip – Flutes (Sasha Remix)

2. The Scumfrog – Running

3. Michael Franti – Let It Go feat. Ethan Tucker (Stanton Warriors Remix)

4. Pachanga Boys – Time

5. Colombo – Summit

6. Diplo – Express Yourself feat. Nicky Da B

7. Ginger And The Ghost – One Type Of Dark (Ta-Ku Remix)

8. Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros – Man On Fire (Adam Freeland Remix)

9. Benoit & Sergio – Principles

10. Infected Mushroom – Scorpion Frog

11. Colombo – Clubbing

12. Joe Smooth – Promised Land





 (music from & inspired by the film)


Executive Producers: Dan Wilson and Steve Brown

Produced By Catherine Enny

Night Album Co-Produced By Tim Fielding

Film Music Supervisor Aminé Ramer

Mastered By Brian “Big Bass” Gardner, Bernie Grundman Studios, LA, CA


Want to bring ”Spark: A Burning Man Story” to a theater near you? To host a screening, visit,

 If your screening is a part of a larger event or art project, we can also profile your event on Spark’s sister site,