Monday, July 21, 2014

Prince Fatty Meets Nostalgia 77 single out 18/08

18th August brings the digital double A-side single release of “Medicine Chest Dub”/“Seven Nation Army Dub feat. Dennis Alcapone”, ahead of an intriguing new collaborative album from Prince Fatty Meets Nostalgia 77, entitled ‘In The Kingdom Of Dub’.

The album, out 22nd September on Tru Thoughts, sees the worlds of dub and jazz collide as two musical explorers and like minds join forces to illuminate the shared roots and spirit of rebellion that lie at the heart of these two genres. Prince Fatty – maverick producer of Hollie Cook and countless pop and reggae legends alongside his own Soundsystem projects – puts his spin on the music of bluesy jazz wunderkind Nostalgia 77 for a set of exclusive new versions of tracks from across the latter’s prolific career, including collaborations with Alice Russell, Keith and Julie Tippett and Beth Rowley. A deep, energetic and transporting listen, this record celebrates and builds upon the sonic and cultural beauty of both jazz and dub.

This single highlights the opening two tracks on the album, the original versions of which were released a decade apart from each other. The “Medicine Chest” original, featuring Josa Peit’s sultry vocals, is one of the most popular songs from Nostalgia 77’s latest acclaimed album ‘A Journey Too Far’, which came out in February; Prince Fatty’s dub makeover injects a playful power while amping up its bluesy roots for an explosive summer jam. Nostalgia 77’s gutsy “Seven Nation Army” cover featuring Alice Russell, on the other hand, was released almost ten years ago on his second solo album ‘The Garden’; this new reggae version of the still in-demand classic – boasting the additional talents of Jamaican great Dennis Alcapone – simply nails it once again, reaching a new level of genre-defying heaviness.