Monday, October 14, 2013


Astralwerks Records and deadmau5–each credited with pioneering the genre’s evolution from esoteric subculture to its undeniable place in mainstream culture today, have joined forces. Kicking off the relationship, Astralwerks will release the brand new mau5trap compilation album “We Are Friends Vol. 2″ on November 12, 2013 with its pre-sale launching on October 22, 2013.


In their exciting new partnership, Astralwerks will be the U.S. home to future deadmau5 artist releases and the exclusive distributor and label partner for deadmau5′s imprint mau5trap recordings. This two-tiered agreement, encompassing both deadmau5 as a global label partner with mau5trap and as an Astralwerks roster artist for the U.S., is the first of its kind for Astralwerks.


Known for breaking records and breaking boundaries, deadmau5–a multiple JUNO Award-winning and Grammy®-nominated artist–is also committed to breaking up-and-coming talent with his label mau5trap recordings. “We Are Friends Vol. 2″ will be the first mau5trap release via Astralwerks.  As the follow up to the mau5trap compilation “We Are Friends Vol. 1,”  “We Are Friends Vol. 2″  will include content from BSOD (deadmau5 and Steve Duda), James Njie, Kairo Kingdom and more, plus two brand new deadmau5  tracks with “Suckfest 9001″ and “Your Ad Here.”  The complete track listing follows below.


Meanwhile, as part of the agreement, deadmau5 will retain creative control of mau5trap where he will continue to nurture developing acts and curate the mau5trap artist roster which has previously included Le Castle Vania, Feed Me and Foreign Beggars. mau5trap will continue to operate as a separate entity out of the label’s Toronto offices.


 ”So, it’s now official… Yep, we’ve teamed up with our friends at Astralwerks! It’s done, and this shit is happening! Big plans are in motion people. BIG,” says deadmau5.


“We are thrilled to be working with deadmau5 both as an artist and as an A&R partner for his mau5trap label,” adds Astralwerks General Manager Glenn Mendlinger. “Joel is an absolute trail blazer, pushing the boundaries of electronic music, production, and the live experience to places unimaginable without his vision and contribution. This is an exciting moment, but it’s only the beginning. Watch this space…”

“We Are Friends” Vol. 2 Tracklist

1.    deadmau5 – Your Ad Here

2.    deadmau5 – Suckfest9001

3.    BSOD – Super Breakfast

4.    Aron H – Entrance

5.    Eekkoo – Lekture

6.    Heat Maxwell – FreakShow

7.    James Njie – In Transit

8.    James Njie – The Right Time

9.    Kairo Kingdom – 3030

10.Kairo Kingdom – Machine Empire

11.Al Bizarre – Crime

About Astralwerks: Astralwerks Records is one of America’s pre-eminent homes for unique and forward-thinking artists. Founded in 1993 in New York City the label helped ignite two explosive waves of musical creativity: first with Electronica in the ’90s, and more recently with EDM in the new millennium, while also nurturing artists beyond the realm of dance music. In addition to deadmau5, Astralwerks’ roster also includes The Chemical Brothers, Kraftwerk, Pet Shop Boys, Fatboy Slim, Air, Hot Chip, Phoenix, Kings of Convenience, The Kooks, Doves, The Beta Band, Eric Prydz, Mat Zo and Nervo among many more.


About deadmau5: Joel Zimmerman, more commonly known as deadmau5 (pronounced ‘dead mouse’), is one of the world’s most respected electronic music producers of modern times. Enjoying international chart success with his singles “Professional Griefers,” “Sofi Needs A Ladder,” “Ghosts ‘n’ Stuff” and “I Remember,” he has also released four critically acclaimed albums: > album title goes here < (his most recent release which reached #1 on the Billboard Dance/Electronic Chart, #2 on the Billboard Independent Album Chart and #5 on the Billboard Digital Album Chart),  4×4=12, For Lack Of A Better Name and Random Album Title. The multiple JUNO Award-winning and Grammy®-nominated artist performed at the 54th Annual GRAMMY Awards as part of its first ever telecast performance highlighting electronic music. His ability to push the boundaries of his talent grows at an equal rate to his fan base, which counts over 7 million on his Facebook page. A major touring act, he has headlined Lollapalooza, Outside Lands, Sonar, Virgin Mobile FreeFest, Coachella, Ultra Music Festival and Creamfields, and sold out Rogers Centre in Toronto and PETCO Park in San Diego, as well as multiple consecutive nights at legendary venues like the Roseland Ballroom in NYC and the Palladium in Los Angeles. 2013 includes headlining slots at Ultra Music Festival – Miami, Lollapalooza Chile, Lollapalooza Brazil and The Veld festival, with HARD Day of the Dead in Los Angeles coming up in November.  Plans for a major world tour in 2014 are in now the works. He appeared on the cover of Rolling Stone (summer double issue, 2012), marking him as the first electronic artist to do so.