Thursday, January 17, 2013


Stephen Brodsky, best known as the vocalist and guitar player of the critically-praised band Cave In, but an accomplished songwriter in his own right, has teamed up with Little Black Cloud Records to release his first batch of solo material since 2009.  Titled Hit or Mystery, the 8 song EP will be released both digitally and on two-toned vinyl with an embossed, full color jacket on April 16, 2013. today premiered the first single, “Real Surreal Beauty”, which can be streamed and downloaded at:

Likely the most lush-sounding and surrealist release of solo material by Brodsky to date, Hit or Mystery is characterized by haunting melodies, swimming ambiences and subtle quirkiness reminiscent of the hypnotic charm of Animal Collective or the mystical vocal spells of Robert Plant.  The sonic reaction to life in New York after calling Boston home for several years, lyrical themes in the EP run the gamut from Brodsky’s recent move in “Real Surreal Beauty” to taking inspiration from Marukami‘s novel “1Q84″ in the song “Dear Luna” to the album’s stunning closer, “Your Sweet Love”, a tribute to Lee Hazlewood (full tracklisting below).  Hit or Mystery was mixed by Phil Palazzolo (Okkervil River, St. Vincent, New Pornographers, Roky Erickson, AC Newman, Ted Leo) and mastered by James Plotkin (Jodis, Khanate, Khlyst, Old Atomsmasher).

Since co-founding Cave In in 1995, Brodsky has remained active both as a solo musician and home recording artist.  His debut album Expose Your Overdubs was released on Magic Bullet Records in 1998 and marked the first of many solo projects to follow.  Stylistically apart from Cave In, Brodsky’s solo compositions sound like “audio diary entries” – both singular and immediate; emphasizing the spirit of a work in progress.  In 2005 Hydra Head Records released four Brodsky-related albums and solo tours and one-off’s around the world have paired Stephen with a wide range of artists including Scott Kelly (Neurosis), Jesu, Thurston Moore, Harvey Milk, Sebadoh, Codeine, Ben Kweller, Chuck Ragan (Hot Water Music), Tim Barry (Avail), Tommy Giles (Between the Buried and Me), and Pelican.

Track Listing:
1) Hit or Mystery
2) Dear Luna
3) Days of Heaven
4) Real Surreal Beauty
5) Rose Hips
6) Your Sweet Love
7) Thing in the Spring
8) Muddy Jar (digital release only)

No comments:

Post a Comment