Wednesday, January 8, 2014


I Surrender Records is excited to announce the new album from New York City-based rock band I Am The Avalanche. Titled Wolverines, the new full-length was produced and engineered by the band’s drummer Brett “The Ratt” Romnes at The Barber Shop Studios in Lake Hopatcong, NJ and mixed by Will Yip. Encompassing ten songs full of heart, ferocity, relentless passion and, of course, struggle, Wolverines follows the band’s sophomore album, the acclaimed Avalanche United (2011), and will be released in stores and online on Tuesday, March 18. Pre-order vinyl and CD bundles are now exclusively available through I Surrender Records’ official website HERE.

Currently, is premiering the first track from Wolverines titled “The Shape I’m In,” whose lyrics, penned by singer Vinnie Caruana, were inspired by a serious physical injury he sustained last year while on tour, and the physical and emotional pain he had to grapple with and overcome. Stream “The Shape I’m In” HERE.

Photo: Karen Seifert

To the members of I Am The Avalanche – Vinnie Caruana (vocals), Brandon Swanson (guitar), Brett “The Ratt” Romnes (drums) and John Oliva (bass) – Wolverines is their most anthemic and cohesive full-length album to date and stands as a fitting body of work to the band’s natural progression. Their self-titled debut record, released in 2005, was the sound of a band finding themselves in the context of their scene that, through their associations, couldn’t help but define them, even if they didn’t want them to. The band’s second album, Avalanche United, was written across a long, drawn-out six-year period, and the uncertainty of their situation during that time pierces that particular record’s constructs.

There were no such problems with Wolverines, however – it’s a powerful record through and through, a complete set of songs that each play a specific and vital part on the album. “I think it’s our most well thought-out and least rushed record,” says Caruana. “Times spent at rock bottom and also feelings of personal triumph have shaped what I feel is the perfect record for us as a band and for our supporters as well.”

Wolverines track listing:

01. Two Runaways

02. 177

04. Young Kerouacs

05. Wolverines

06. Anna Lee

07. Save Your Name

08. Where Were You?

09. My Lion Heart

10. One Last Time