Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Allah-Las Sophomore LP "Worship The Sun" Out September 16th On Innovative Leisure

Allah-Las met while working at Amoeba Music, a key destination for music lovers in Los Angeles. While this experience helped shape their sensibility, their sound was forged in an underground basement where they came together as a band. They began gigging in Los Angeles in 2008, refining their live performance, and finally released their first 7” single ‘Catamaran / Long Journey’ in 2011. In 2012, they began their relationship with Innovative Leisure, releasing their first self-titled album, Allah-Las, anchored by their second single ‘Tell Me (What’s On Your Mind) / Sacred Sands.’ The release was met with critical acclaim and the band toured extensively in the States and abroad before going back into the studio to record their follow-up.

Allah-Las’ second album, “Worship The Sun,” expands on the sound established by their maiden effort, honing their fusion of West Coast garage rock and roll, Latin percussion and electric folk. As richly textured and timeless as a Southern California beach break, the songs are evocative of Los Angeles’ storied past. Beatniks, artists, surfers, nomads. Remnants of a bygone Sunset Strip.  Golden tans and cosmic sunsets. One can feel the warmth of the sun, but the band deftly avoids the kitsch so often indulged by lovers of these things. Hints of Byrds, Love, Felt, and those who follow are threaded into the tapestry.

LA’s seminal Ferus Gallery – the home of Wallace Berman, Ed Kienholz, Ed Ruscha, Billy Al Bengston – is paid homage in an eponymous instrumental, broadening the scope beyond mere sea, surf, and sand. The lyrics reveal a new maturity; reflections of a band that has grown together through experiences on the road and in the studio. “Worship The Sun” is at once the perfect soundtrack for the greatest surf film never made and for a golden hour drive through Topanga Canyon. Yet, while grounded in the Southern California experience, the appeal of the album is not limited by locale. It is a teenage symphony to the sun, for all those who know its grace.

Track Listing:

1. De Vida Voz

2. Had It All

3. Artifact

4. Ferus Gallery

5. Recurring

6. Nothing To Hide

7. Buffalo Nickel

8. Follow You Down

9. 501-415

10. Yemeni Jade

11. Worship The Sun

12. Better Than Mine

13. No Werewolf *

14. Every Girl *

* Included on digital and CD only

Tour Dates:

Jun 11 – Nashville, TN – The High Watt

Jun 12 – Manchester, TN – Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival

Jun 13 – Indianapolis, IN – Do317 Lounge

Jun 14 – Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle

Jun 16 – St. Louis, MO – The Firebird

Jun 17 – Kansas City, MO – The Riot Room

Jun 18 – Denver, CO – Larimer Lounge

Jun 19 – Salt Lake City, UT – Urban Lounge

Jun 21 – Leggett, CA – Hickey Fest

Jun 22 – San Francisco, CA – Great American Music Hall *

Jun 28 – Long Beach, CA – Summer and Music Festival

Aug 23 –Ucluelet, BC – Otalith Music Festival

Aug 30 – Vancouver, BC – Nootkah Sound Festival

* w/ Dream Boys