Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Songs Of Townes Van Zandt Vol II To Be Released in United States

Following the 2012-released Songs Of Townes Van Zandt — the tribute album to late folk/country music icon, with covers from Saint Vitus/The Obsessed’s Scott “Wino” Weinrich and Neurosis’ Steve Von Till and Scott Kelly — this week Neurot Recordings proudly confirms the upcoming second installment of homage to the artist.

Once again through a partnership with their cohorts at Germany’s My Proud Mountain Records, who envisioned the pair of tribute albums to Townes Van Zandt and will again handle the release for Europe and all international territories, Neurot will release Songs of Townes Van Zandt Vol II stateside in March of 2014. The second wave of tunes contained on the new volume complimenting this legendary but often overlooked American singer-songwriter will feature nine more TVZ covers, with contributions from a variety of artists who not only front full-time bands but whom also forged their own solo and collaborative works, including Mike Sheidt (YOB, VHÖL), Nate Hall (USX), John Baizley (Baroness), Katie Jones, Stevie Floyd (Dark Castle, Taurus) and Dorthia Cottrell (Windhand).

The cover art and track listing for Songs of Townes Van Zandt Vol II have been unveiled, with an official street date, music from the album and more to be released early in 2014.

Songs of Townes Van Zandt Vol II Track Listing:

1. To Live Is To Fly (Mike Scheidt)

2. Pancho & Lefty (Nate Hall)

3. St. John The Gambler (John Baizley & Katie Jones)

4. Rake (Mike Scheidt)

5. Waitin’ Around To Die (Nate Hall & Stevie Floyd)

6. For The Sake Of The Song (John Baizley & Katie Jones)

7. Highway Kind (Mike Scheidt)

8. Our Mother The Mountain (Nate Hall & Dorthia Cottrell)

9. If I Needed You (John Baizley & Katie Jones)