Monday, April 6, 2015

Desaparecidos Release Payola 6/23

Desaparecidos will release their first new album in 13 years, Payola, on June 23. The first new song from the album “City on the Hill” can be heard below the jump.

Formed in 2001 in Omaha, Nebraska, Desaparecidos released one album, Read Music / Speak Spanish in 2002 on Saddle Creek Records. Though the band never “broke up”, they did part ways for several years as members Conor Oberst (vocals, guitar), Denver Dalley (guitar), Ian McElroy (keyboards), Landon Hedges (bass / vocals), and Matt Baum (drums) went on to pursue separate ambitions, including Conor Oberst‘s career with the band Bright Eyes.huge_avatar

In 2010, Desaparecidos played together again at the Concert for Equality in Omaha (an event organized by Oberst to promote the repeal of then-recently enacted measures to prohibit businesses and landlords from hiring or renting to undocumented immigrants in Fremont, Nebraska). The band embarked on a short summer tour in 2012, and self-released several tracks on singles and 7-inches for the next year. Previously released tracks that are featured on the album are “MariKKKopa“, “Backsell“, “Anonymous“, “The Left is Right“, “Te Amo Camila Vallejo“, and “The Underground Man“.

Payola is the follow-up album to the first and only Desaparecidos album, Read Music / Speak Spanish. Influenced by ’70s/’80s punk & hardcore like T.S.O.L. and Cro-Mags; early ’80s power-pop the Vapors and Tommy Tutone, Payola was co-produced with Mike Mogis (First Aid Kit, Saintseneca, and ‘The Fault in our Stars’ Score From the Motion Picture with Nate Walcott); and was recorded in several batches over the past few years. On Payola, the band consciously tackled a wide range of political issues at a much broader scale. It has a greater degree of focus and musicality than the first release. Payola is more raw, louder, and angrier. In addition to the 6 previously released tracks, the album also includes 8 new tracks from the band.

A band that never fully came into fruition is finally getting their due with their sophomore release only 13 short years later. Desaparecidos are scheduled to play Coachella this month, in addition to plays with Brand New and Built to Spill on their west coast run, along with several small room shows with Touche Amore and Epitaph label mates Joyce Manor. Full tour dates are listed below.

Pre-orders for Payola are available at

Payola Track List:

01. The Left is Right

02. The Underground Man

03. City on the Hill (Ft. Tim Kasher)

04. Golden Parachutes (ft. Laura Jane Grace)

05. Radicalized

06. MariKKKopa

07. Te Amo Camila Vallejo

08. Ralphy’s Cut

09. Backsell

10. Slacktivist (Ft. So So Glos)

11. Search the Searches

12. 10 Steps Behind

13. Von Maur Massacre

14. Anonymous

Desaparecidos Show Dates

Jul 17 Louisville, KY – Forecastle Festival

Apr 8 The Fillmore Auditorium – Denver, CO (with Brand New) SOLD OUT

Apr 10 The Great Saltair- Magna, UT (with Brand New) SOLD OUT

Apr 12 Coachella – Indio, CA (SOLD OUT)

Apr 13 Roxy Theatre – Los Angeles, CA (with Joyce Manor and Touche Amore) SOLD OUT

Apr 15 Shrine Expo Hall – Los Angeles, CA (with Brand New, Built to Spill) SOLD OUT

Apr 16 Regency Ballroom – San Francisco, CA (with Joyce Manor and Touche Amore)

Apr 19 Coachella – Indio, CA (SOLD OUT)

Jul 31 – Aug 2 Montreal, QC – Osheaga Music and Arts Festival

Aug 8-9 Atlanta, GA – The Wrecking Ball festival